Home The Methodist Church of New Zealand
He Whakaroaro Pa harakeke

Climate Justice

About Us

Climate Justice Working Group

The Climate Justice Working Group (CJWG) was established after Conference 2018 as the Church saw the need for a structured approach to the climate crisis. 

Our Mission

In 2018, the Conference of the Methodist Church of New Zealand, Te Hāhi Weteriana o Aotearoa affirmed God’s love for the whole of creation and our common home with its capacity for healing, renewal and flourishing as one sacred community.  Conference further affirmed deep regard for the diversity of all forms of life, and our guardianship responsibilities for Papatuanuku (earth) as our common home.

This Group is tasked by the Conference to:

  • Support learning for our people, our leaders and our communities on climate justice and strengthen theological understanding of care for the integrity of creation.
  • Review church assets of property, land, finance and purchasing decisions to ensure economical use of resources and reduction of waste.
  • Develop and implement practices for living well with the earth and looking after the earth’s resources. The Group reports regularly to the Public Issues Coordinating Group.
  • Develop a Methodist Church platform for the dignified climate migration for Pacific peoples displaced by Climate Change.

Working Group membership:

Members are appointed by Conference and include representation from Te Taha Māori, Tauiwi, Trinity College, Methodist Church Property Committee and the Methodist Alliance.


The Working Group Members are:

  • Rev Siosifa Pole


  • Marion Hines


  • Mark Gibson

  • Gillian Laird

  • Joeli Ducivaki

  • Peter Lane

  • George Zachariah

  • Elisapesi Havea

  • Siniva Isaia


Climate Change [and inequality] represent the principal challenges facing humanity in our day…. We are faced not with two separate crises, one environmental and the other social, but rather with one social and environmental crisis…. … to hear the cry of the earth and the cry of the poor.”

Laudato Si' (parts of 25, 49, 139), Pope Francis